Teachers are a Gift!

Standard

It was during one of my PGCE classes that the lecturer asked us about one main resource we found most influential in our learning life right from childhood, and I wrote down the PEN.

So when it was time for all of us to show the rest of the class what we had written, my course-mates saw my – ‘PEN’. Some were like ‘hmmm, – just pen?‘ One of themΒ  said: ‘didn’t you have any teacher that was influential in your educational life?

Poor me, I felt like a betrayer but I could only murmur out: “actually we were too many in the class for any teacher to have that required influence”.Β  Since then, I have been asking myself: ‘Are you an ingrate?’ ‘What of teachers like:

  • Mrs. Kuti (my Primary 2 teacher), Mrs. Oransaye (my Primary 3 teacher), who used to teach us with so much energy and passion that everyday, when I got home, I kept on singing the rhyme she had taught us: “there is an engine…”, ‘dear me, I really have forgotten most of it now.

Also, back in Secondary school,

  • I had my Junior Secondary Agricultural Science teacher, my After-school lesson teachers:Mr. Rotimi and Mr. Adesanya;
  • my English language teacher: Mrs. Amadife and
  • my Chemistry teacher.
  • Also I remember Mr. Eniola who wasn’t an assigned teacher to our year but always gave me the required attention whenever I go to him with a Physics problem.

Finally, I have to say that every teacher I have passed through in life had contributed in one way or the other to my education. There are also some key people that weren’t teachers but were very helpful and important in my learning experience. Some of these people are:

  • my cousin – Aunty Kehinde, who taught me, in those early years of my life, reading and maths (never mind the use of Aunty for a cousin because that is a colloquial use in Nigeria);
  • Jubril Adelakun, a classmate in Primary 2 who told me that the secret to knowledge is revision; and
  • Victor Akhindenor who helped me to improve my essay writing skills whilst we were preparing for WAEC, because my writing skills prior to that time was – to say the least – abysmal.

These, and others I haven’t mentioned deserved to have been penned down by me in class that day, not my PEN. Now, tell me, if today you are asked what or who is the most important resource you have had in your learning life, what or who would it be?

 

 

Abdulghaniy Kayode Otukogbe.
The man who is afraid to risk failure seldom has to face success.

Leave a Reply

